React learning journey so far

React learning journey so far

How I almost failed

Β·

2 min read

How I started out

6 months ago I started learning React. I earnestly followed the getting started guide and at long last, I completed the infamous tic tac toe. Then I stopped, after 2 months of learning. Nothing stuck anymore. I would refer to the docs more than I wanted for even the basics and that frustrated 😩 me a lot.

What should I do next?

I wanted to jump to another technology, maybe Vue. I did hear that Vue was "easier to learn" and "developer-friendly". I did the same thing with Angular, now React! After days of indecision, I concluded that if I needed to understand React well, consistency is key πŸ”‘.

I came up with a plan

I had to change the way ↕️ I learn. My plan was simple. Build Projects. No matter how dumb or simple they are. I have to say this way the best idea πŸ’‘ I ever came up with. I started small by building static web pages to simple to-do applications.

Where am at now

I am working on a side project building a blogging website named Reblog. It is not an innovative project, just a helper to help me level up.

What I've learnt so far

Well, I have learnt a ton of new stuff. Though I wouldn't consider myself an expert. Here is a summary of the things I now know that I was unaware of;

  1. Create React App CLI πŸ› 

    This tool is so vital to take for granted. If you're a novice, you often hear, "React is just a library" πŸ“š. This tool plays a major role in writing πŸ“ standard production-ready React. I plan to cover it in greater detail in another article. Just visit the Create React App web page.

  2. Hooks πŸͺ

    They helped me write stateful functional components. Implementing hooks on this project has largely cemented my knowledge of hooks.

  3. A few more topics I'm confident;

    • Render props
    • Refs
    • Context API
    • Presentation & Container components
    • React router dom

The End

I appreciate your taking the time read my post. Thank you πŸ™

Β